Hey kid

October 2, 2013

A baby passes
   in the little seat in
   the shopping cart
   and stares at me
His mother is half-
   frantically searching
   for something in
   the depths of her purse while
   his older sisters are
   running orbits around
   the two of them and
   there are announcements
   going on from the PA and
   another wild kid is making
   noise with the electronic
   knick-knack
   impulse fodder
and I look at the baby
   as I stand there with
   nothing to do
and he looks at me as
   he sits there with nothing
   to do
and I make my eyes real big
and he grins
Comment

