something, nothing

May 25, 2012

There are times–
long stretches, in some instances–
where I don’t get anything written
because I feel
I don’t have anything to say
Nothing outstanding happened
Nothing pissed me off
or made me sad
and of course nothing comes out
when everything’s A-OK

It’s hard to take myself seriously
when I try to contemplate nature while
scribbling ground-up rock on
mashed-up wood pulp
Let alone bang away at the computer
and whatever it does

So I don’t write anything

which is silly because
not everything
not every poem
every word
every comma
has to be a god-damn masterpiece

Life
or maybe just mine
has so few moments that
most would consider a
true masterpiece
But I guess that’s the point
You don’t always have to SAY SOMETHING

So here it is, muse:
me
not saying anything

One Response to “something, nothing”

  1. doncarroll said

    nice take on this. the last couple of lines on that first stanza can’t get any accurate than that.

Comment

