Pledge

May 20, 2012

Growing up,
adulthood
seemed like a club
or a fraternity
and the only admittance requirement
was age
I’d turn 18
or 21
and the world would be a party
I’d wake in the morning
step out into
The House
and be greeted by
all my friends
Brothers

I’m past 18
and 21
and every day I see
adults
nervous and unfamiliar
interacting awkwardly
or not interacting at all
Just shy children who grew
into taller shy children
and tall bumbling innocents
interacting awkwardly
or not interacting at all
Which is relieving to me
because I haven’t gotten in
to the club yet
either

2 Responses to “Pledge”

  1. doncarroll said

    good and strong here. i certainly can relate to it.

Comment

