A phone call

November 20, 2011

I received a call from the Easter Bunny

once when I was young

Probably some stunt my parents set up

and payed for

He asked me how I was

and what I was hoping for in my easter basket

I remember standing in the living room

speechless

Not because I was star struck

or particularly irreverent

or even ill-mannered

I was just confused

as to why the Easter Bunny would call me

He ended the conversation with

“Happy Easter!”

“k.  seeya.”

What a disrespectful little shit

the Easter Bunny must have thought I was

He was probably a little confused himself

Probably called hundreds of kids

Respectful children who squealed

with excitement over the wire

I have to imagine if

for some reason

Mr. Death or God himself called for me

I’d react similarly

bewilderment maybe

ambivalence

“uh, hey.  what’s up.”

and maybe they’ll be caught off-guard

and just leave me alone

Comment

