The 7-Billionth

November 1, 2011

I know you.
I know dozens of you.
Hundreds of you.
More of you than you think exist.
I barely believe it myself.
Artificial personality too obvious to be real.
Like a character in a children’s movie.
Agreeing for the ease of agreeing.
Arguing for the sake of arguing.
I know what you’re going to say before
you know what you’re going to say.
Thousands born every day.
The Doctor will welcome the eight-billionth
with a slap on the seat.
I will welcome It with the usual:
A beer down my throat and a trip to bed.

Comment

