El Dorado

March 9, 2011

The road to El Dorado
is not paved in gold
Keep an eye on the North Star
as you lose what you hold
we got moral illusion
in old letters from
our fathers and their dads
back where they called home

I saw a ghost of a soldier
on the side of the road
his face blank but his eyes deep
with history untold
I got lost in a dust storm
and found myself in the woods
I’d try and take it all home with me
if only I could

I could
Cause a happening
I’ve been grappling
with
Oh, la! The riot’s done
Make way for the sun
Onward

Comment

